## ABER VALLEY COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED CWMABER

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE ABOVE COUNCIL HELD AT SENGHENYDD COMMUNITY CENTRE ON FRIDAY 10<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2019

PRESENT:

Chairperson: Councillor D. Daniels

Councillors: M. Battle, D. Berry, L. Binding, A. Diblasi,

E. P. Prendergast, J. Roberts, J. Taylor, P. Yandle

Clerk: S. Hughes

**APOLOGIES:** T. Richards, M. Stretch

#### 2. <u>DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST</u>

Councillors and Officers were reminded of their personal responsibility to declare any personal and/or prejudicial interests(s) in respect of any item of business on this agenda in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000, the Council's Constitution, and the Code of Conduct for both Councillors and Clerk.

#### 3. MINUTES

The minutes of the last Annual General Meeting held on 17<sup>th</sup> May 2018 were reviewed.

#### 4. CHAIRPERSONS ALLOWANCE 2019/20

It was agreed that the Chairperson's allowance for 2019/20 would be £100.

#### 5. <u>VICE CHAIRPERSONS ALLOWANCE 2019/20</u>

It was agreed that the Vice Chairperson's allowance for 2019/20 would be nil.

#### 6. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON</u>

Councillor D. Daniels was elected as Chairperson and chaired the remainder of the meeting.

Members thanked Councillor E. P. Prendergast for all the duties she undertook in her role as the Chairperson for 2018/19.

#### 7. <u>ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON</u>

Councillor P. Yandle was elected as Vice Chairperson.

#### 8. <u>DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE</u>

Councillor D. Daniels signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office having been elected as the Chairperson of Aber Valley Community Council.

Councillor P. Yandle signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office having been elected as the Vice Chairperson of Aber Valley Community Council.

#### 9. COMMUNITY COUNCILLOR ALLOWANCE

All Community and Town Councils must make available a payment to each of their Members of £150 per year as a contribution to costs and expenses – the Clerk to make the necessary arrangements.

#### 10. BANKING ARRANGEMENTS

It was agreed that the existing arrangements with the Co-operative Bank continue.

It was agreed that the Clerk be the Responsible Financial Officer for the Community Council in accordance with the requirements of Section 151 of the Local Government Act 1972 and the following Members remained as account signatories:

Councillor E. P. Prendergast Councillor J. Taylor Councillor M. Battle Councillor L. Binding

#### 11. COMMUNITY COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Members were appointed to serve on the following Community Council Committees:

#### a) Finance Committee

Chairperson, Clerk, Councillor J. Taylor, Councillor D. Berry, Councillor T. Richards, Councillor M. Stretch.

#### b) Forward Work Programme Committee

All Members

#### 12. OUTSIDE BODIES

Members were appointed to serve as representatives of the Community Council on the following outside bodies:

### a) Town and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee Councillor P. Yandle and Councillor A. Diblasi

### b) Community Council Liaison Sub Committee

Councillor P. Yandle (Reserve: Councillor A. Diblasi)

#### c) Caerphilly & District Twinning Association

Councillor T. Richards

#### d) Aber Valley Partnership

Councillor E. P. Prendergast

#### e) <u>Senghenydd Community Centre Management Committee</u> Councillor D. Berry

#### f) <u>Abertridwr Community Centre Management Committee</u> Councillor M. Battle

#### g) <u>Friends of Abertridwr Park Association</u> Councillor J. Taylor (Reserve: Councillor D. Berry)

#### h) School Governors

Nant-y-Parc Primary School – Councillor D. Berry (term ends 30/06/2020) Ysgol Ifor Bach – Councillor T. Richards (term ends 16/05/2022) Cwmaber Infant School – Councillor M. Stretch (term ends 16/05/2022) Cwmaber Junior School – Councillor P. Yandle (term ends 16/05/2022)

#### 13. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS 2018/19

Members received and approved the Statement of Accounts for the year ending 31<sup>st</sup> March 2019.

#### 14. RISK ASSESSMENT 2019/20

Members reviewed and adopted the Risk Assessment for 2019/20.

#### 15. POLICIES AND DOCUMENTS 2019/20

Members received and adopted the following polices and documents:

Standing Orders

Financial Regulations

**Data Protection Policy** 

Data Retention Policy

Forward Work Programme Terms of Reference

Finance Committee Terms of Reference

Fixed Asset Register/Inventory

Code of Conduct

#### 16. MEMBERS ATTENDANCE RECORD

The Member's attendance record for 2018/19 was presented.

Signed:	
Chairperson	
Aber Valley Community Council	