ABER VALLEY COMMUNITY COUNCIL CYNGOR CYMUNED CWMABER

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE ABOVE COUNCIL, HELD AT ABERTRIDWR COMMUNITY CENTRE AND ON MICROSOFT TEAMS ON THURSDAY 18TH MAY 2023

PRESENT:

Chairperson: Councillor J. Taylor

Councillors: D. Berry, C. Bishop, P. Cole, E.P. Prendergast, and J. Roberts.

Clerk: J. Lloyd

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D. Bishop, D. Daniels, R. Gater, C. Page, and M. Stretch.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Councillors and Officers were reminded of their personal responsibility to declare any personal and/or prejudicial interests(s) in respect of any item of business on this agenda in accordance with the Local Government Act 2000, the Council's Constitution, and the Code of Conduct for both Councillors, Officers and Clerk.

3. MINUTES

The minutes of the Aber Valley Community Council Annual General Meeting held on 16th May 2022 were noted.

4. <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON</u>

Councillor C. Bishop was elected as Chairperson for 2023/2024.

5. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRPERSON

Councillor J. Roberts was elected as Vice Chairperson for 2023/2024.

6. DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE FOR CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

Declaration of Acceptance of Office forms were signed by the Chair and Vice Chair.

7. CHAIRPERSONS ALLOWANCE 2023/24

It was agreed that the Chairperson's allowance for 2023/24 would be £100.

8. VICE CHAIRPERSONS ALLOWANCE 2023/24

It was agreed that the Vice Chairperson's allowance for 2023/24 would be nil.

9. COMMUNITY COUNCILLOR ALLOWANCE 2023/24

Arrangements to be made for the payment of £156, as a contribution to costs and expenses, to be made available to all Members of the Community Council. Members were informed that they would be responsible for any tax implications.

Members were informed that a decision to elect to forgo the payment should be made by giving notice in writing to the Clerk.

10. BANKING ARRANGEMENTS

It was agreed for the existing arrangements with the Co-operative Bank to continue.

It was agreed that the Clerk be the Responsible Financial Officer for the Community Council in accordance with the requirements of Section 151 of the Local Government Act 1972 and the following Members were appointed as account signatories:

Councillor C. Page

Councillor J. Taylor

Councillor C. Bishop

Councillor M. Stretch

Reserve: Councillor D. Berry

11. COMMUNITY COUNCIL COMMITTEES

Members were appointed to serve on the following Community Council Committees:

(i) Finance Committee

Chairperson

Clerk

Councillor R. Gater

Councillor D. Berry

Councillor C. Page

Councillor M. Stretch

(ii) Forward Work Programme Committee

All Members

12. THE APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SERVE AS REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES

Members were appointed to serve as representatives of the Community Council on the following outside bodies:

- (i) Town and Community Councils Joint Liaison Committee
 Councillor M. Stretch and Councillor D. Berry
- (ii) Community Council Liaison Sub Committee
 Councillor M. Stretch (Reserve: Councillor D. Berry)
- (iii) Aber Valley Partnership
 Councillor D. Berry
- (iv) <u>Senghenydd Community Centre Management Committee</u> Councillor D. Berry
- (v) <u>Abertridwr Community Centre Management Committee</u> Councillor D. Bishop
- (vi) Friends of Abertridwr Park Association
 Councillor D. Berry (Reserve: Councillor J. Taylor)
- (vii) <u>Caerphilly & District Twinning Association</u>Councillor C. Bishop and Councillor C. Page
- (viii) School Governors

Nant-y-Parc Primary School Board of Governors – Councillor D. Berry (11/10/2024) Ysgol Ifor Bach School Board of Governors – Councillor C. Bishop (26/02/2024) Cwmaber Infant School Board of Governors – Councillor C. Bishop (18/05/2027) Cwmaber Junior School Board of Governors – Councillor R. Gater (16/05/2026)

13. ANNUAL ACCOUNTS 2022/23

Members received and approved the Statement of Accounts for the year ending 31st March 2023.

14. RISK ASSESSMENT 2023/24

Members reviewed and adopted the Risk Assessment for 2023/24.

15. POLICIES AND DOCUMENTS 2023/24

Members received and adopted the following polices and documents:

- (i) Standing Orders
- (ii) Financial Regulations
- (iii) Data Protection Policy
- (iv) Data Retention Policy
- (v) Forward Work Programme Terms of Reference

- (vi) Finance Committee Terms of Reference
- (vii) Fixed Asset Register
- (viii) The Green Plan
- (ix) Biodiversity Report

16. MEMBERS ATTENDANCE RECORD

Members received the attendance record for 2022/23.

Signed:	
Chairperson	
Aber Valley Community Council	